Stage Magic Competition | Percy Poole Trophy

The Percy Poole Trophy is awarded in recognition of excellence in stage magic by a junior member. No effect or routine designed to be performed close up will be permitted. The spirit of this competition is to encourage growth in the fields of school assembly, banquet, club, revue and cruise ship style magic. The trophy was first awarded in 1976 and was replaced and updated in 2006 by then President, Mike Norden.

Please read the General Competition Rules prior to participation in this contest.

For more information or to enter this competition, please contact our Awards and Competition Chairman, Yoosik Oum at 604-802-8909. Please note that you must register at least 24 hours in advance.

Please note: The Vancouver Magic Circle owns this trophy and it must be kept safe for its preservation. If you win this competition and can demonstrate a need for the physical possession of the trophy, please complete the Trophy Lending Agreement and submit it to the Executive Board. Qualification to borrow trophies ultimately lies at the discretion of the Executive Board and will be dealt with on a case-by-case basis at the following Executive Meeting or at the will of the Executive Board.

Previous winners include:


  • 2010: Nicholas Chow
  • 2011: not contested
  • 2012: not contested
  • 2013: Brianna Carlson
  • 2014: not contested


  • 2000: Trevor Watters
  • 2001: Steven Best
  • 2002: Jeremy Heryet
  • 2003: Not Contested
  • 2004: Cameron Fisk
  • 2005: Jack Chow
  • 2006: Nicholas Chow
  • 2007: Jesse Boyes
  • 2008: Alexander Seaman
  • 2009: Jesse Boyes


  • 1990: Murray Sawchuk
  • 1991: Murray Sawchuk
  • 1992: Not Contested
  • 1993: Not Contested
  • 1994: Not Contested
  • 1995: Jeremy Olson
  • 1996: Derreck Wilson
  • 1997: Derrick Wilson
  • 1998: Not Contested
  • 1999: Ryan Smith


  • 1980: Perry Madaisky
  • 1981: Not Contested
  • 1982: Not Contested
  • 1983: Not Contested
  • 1984: Not Contested
  • 1985: Not Contested
  • 1986: Not Contested
  • 1987: Not Contested
  • 1988: Not Contested
  • 1989: Not Contested


  • 1976: Richard Millson
  • 1977: Perry Madaisky
  • 1978: David Wilson
  • 1979: Dan Odobas


Vancouver magic circle newsletters

Over 15 years of The Magical Minutes newsletter are available online.


Ice McDonald

The next guest lecturer for the Vancouver Magic Circle is Ice McDonald.


Vancouver magic competitions

Are you entering the next Magic Competition for fabulous prizes?


About the Vancouver Magic Circle

Learn about The Vancouver Magic Circle and how to become a member.